Florida auto accident laws
There are many Florida auto accident laws. For example, Florida law requires everyone who registers a vehicle to maintain automobile insurance, with at least $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL). …
About Florida auto accident laws
According to your no-fault benefits, which essentially means that regardless of who caused the accident, your own company will pay for the first $10,000.00 worth of medical expenses so long as done in compliance with Florida auto accident laws. Florida Statute 627.736 (Required personal injury protection benefits; exclusions; priority; claims. … pursuant to subparagraph 1) indicates that your must see the applicable medical doctor within 14 days after the motor vehicle accident and that doctor must find that you have an ‘Emergent Medical Condition’ (EMC) ….. Florida law provides that with respect to any treatment or services you have to see a medical doctor for treatment. If you are injured in a crash and do not have initial services and care provided to you, you are barred from using your personal injury protection (PIP) coverage…
How to claim personal injury compensation following an auto accident
The personal injury protection law requires that a person seek treatment within 14 days following an accident in order to be entitled to PIP benefits. Basically what this means is that if you do not go see a doctor for your injuries within the first 14 days following an accident, then you will not be entitled to have any of your current and future medical bills paid by your PIP coverage. Thus, it is important to at least get checked out by a doctor within the first two weeks following an accident to at least preserve your right to your PIP coverage.
About Personal Injury Protection a.k.a. No-Fault Coverage
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage, also known as No-Fault Coverage, is one of two types of automobile insurance coverage that is mandatory in the State of Florida (the other mandatory coverage is property damage coverage as stated above). PIP coverage is used to pay your medical bills and lost wages following an accident regardless as to who is at fault for the accident (hence the term No-Fault coverage). Essentially what this means is that regardless as to who’s at fault for an accident, your own insurance company will pay your medical bills and lost wages up to the maximum coverage amount.
Most people who have never been involved in an accident or never received medical treatment or lost wages as a result of an accident are surprised to hear that their own insurance company is the one responsible for paying their medical bills and lost wages. Keep in mind that PIP coverage is mandatory coverage that is required in order to operate a motor vehicle in the State of Florida. Thus, if you are injured in an accident the law requires your insurance company to pay your bills, since Florida is what is referred to as a No- Fault State (a state that requires its drivers to maintain PIP, or No-Fault coverage on their policies). As a result, your insurance company should pay your medical bills and lost wages without issue since you paid for this coverage and it is the law, right? Unfortunately, that’s not always the case.
Even more important, since there are many more laws on the subject, contact a qualified attorney practicing in the area of Florida auto accident laws.
Florida automobile accident laws
Note this is the same as above just change ‘auto’ to ‘automobile’
Florida auto accident law firm
Sokoloff & Weinstein, P.A. is a Florida auto accident law firm.
We recommend that after an accident, if you can, write down the insurance information of the other driver(s), and contact your insurer immediately after an automobile collision. Always insist that the crash be reported to law enforcement so that a law enforcement officer can complete the appropriate forms. We advise you not to negotiate a payment agreement with the other parties to settle damages. Doing it on your own without a crash report from a law enforcement officer could result in your not being fully compensated for damages and can expose you to personal liability since no official report of the crash exists and circumstances become your word against theirs. Also, make sure the investigating officer records complete insurance information on the crash report, report the crash to your insurance company immediately or within the time specified by your policy, if you determine that the other party is insured or uninsured, you should report the information to your insurance company so that they can pursue compensation since they have more information resources at their disposal and never personally confront an at-fault party with demands as you may be dealing with a violent person. Allow your insurance company to handle that.
Always feel free to contact Sokoloff & Weinstein, P.A. , a Florida auto accident law firm, for more information.
Florida car accident laws
Note this is the same as above just change ‘auto’ and ‘automobile’ to ‘car’
New Florida auto accident laws
In February 2018, The Florida House voted in an 88-15 vote to repeal the state’s no-fault auto insurance law. Instead of requiring drivers to carry personal injury protection (PIP) in the amount of $10,000 to cover their own injuries regardless of who is at fault, House Bill (HB) 19 proposes a new plan in which drivers would carry bodily-injury liability insurance (BI) at limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident to cover injuries to others.
Back in 2012, Governor Scott signed new law aimed to crack down on losses associated with fraud. The 2012 no-fault motor vehicle bill went into effect on Jan. 1, 2013, and limited the time accident victims have to receive medical treatment following an auto accident.
The Florida Senate is also working to pass its own version of a bill, intended to repeal and replace the current no-fault system. Similar to the House Bill, Senate Bill 150 repeals PIP and would require Florida drivers to purchase BI coverage at limits of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident, $10,000 for property damage, and $5,000 for medical payments. SB 150 phases in bodily injury liability coverage requirements over time until it reaches $30,000 per person and $60,000 per incident.
It is important to note that in 48 other states BI coverage is already required.
Both bills would end Florida’s status as one of only two states that do not require drivers to purchase BI insurance. The new legislation, if passed and signed into law, could result in the biggest change to auto accident insurance coverage in almost 50 years.
Florida car accident insurance laws
Once again, this is the same question as above and would only require the changing of ‘auto’ and ‘automobile’ and ‘car’ to ‘car accident insurance laws.’
Sokoloff & Weinsteinn, P.A. is a team of personal injury lawyers in Florida. The practice, focused upon Personal Injury law, was established for the purpose of serving the people and businesses of Palm Beach, Broward, Dade, Martin, St. Lucie, and Indian River Counties. We have years of experience representing people seeking compensation following an auto accident. Contact us for more information today.